75th Conference Recap

Highlights from our 75th Conference and Convention

On Saturday, October 5th, 2019 our activities included the John Kittredge Young Numismatist Program sponsored by NENA and the Kittredge Foundation. The Club Table where visitors could purchase this year’s medals and pay their dues; the Exhibits Gallery and the Annual Meeting that included the awards and election of officers.  

The Young Numismatist program was held from 10:00 AM to 12:00 PM and was headed by Richard J. Hand Jr. with the assistance of Chris Sobiesiak, Richard Ziegler, Donat Charron, and Jen Reynolds. This year’s program was very well attended with approximately 36 young numismatists and parents. The program provides an informative and fun learning experience for the youngsters and their parents, with the children receiving coins and other numismatic prizes for their participation.

This year’s exhibits were outstanding we had 11 exhibits with a total of 22 cases. There were three Non-Competitive exhibits including a five case display that highlighted NENA’s history, a two case exhibit by Arthur M. Fitts III that highlighted various numismatic awards that he has received over his many of service to the numismatic community including his award for being inducted into the ANA Numismatic Hall of Fame and a one case exhibit on the Ediville Railroad. We also had four junior exhibitors from the Nashua South High School Coin Club. The junior exhibits were all one case and included an exhibit on “Czech Crowns”1st place; “Ben and Jerry's” 2nd place; “Silver Eagles” 3rd place and “Eisenhower Dollars” runner up. First, Second and Third place junior exhibitors received a NENA Plaque with a NENA medal affixed to it. The junior exhibitors all received an exhibitor’s medal, a one-year NENA membership and were given numismatic prizes courtesy of their club advisors.

Donat Charron won the Eliott Goldberg Best of Show Award for his exhibit on “Massachusetts Town Medals” and received an acrylic plaque and a 1/10 oz. gold eagle; Robert Fritsch took second place with his exhibit “Gone Maine Machines” and received an engraved plaque and a one-ounce silver eagle; Robert Risi took third place with his exhibit on “Error Coins” and received an engraved plaque and a silver eagle; Michael Bruni was the runner-up and received a silver eagle. Robert Risi also received the People’s Choice Award with his exhibit on “Error Coins” and was given an engraved plaque and a silver eagle. All exhibitors received an exhibitor’s medal. The committee gratefully appreciated the time taken by the three Judges to evaluate the exhibits and each judge was given a medal for their efforts.

The Annual Meeting took place from 3:00- 4:00 P.M. and was open to members and non-members alike. The meeting started with a brief talk by Bob Fritsch on “New England’s Narrow Gauge Railroads”. This was followed by the Annual Business Meeting that included the Awards and the elections for Officers. A Presidential Award was presented to Yale Lansky for the work he has done in bringing NENA to tax-exempt status as a federal 501 (c) (3) corporation and the additional work he has done with the Newman Numismatic Portal in getting our older issues of NENA News posted to the site. In absentia, James Ralston also received a Presidential Award for his dedication and many years of service to the New England Numismatic community including the work he has done over the past year or two trying to organize a new coin club in the Portsmouth area. We then presented the exhibit awards and thanked everyone for their time and efforts with the exhibits.

President Harkins thanked our Board members for their service. New candidates James Simson and Kevin Winn were introduced and thanked for stepping forward as candidates and willing to serve on the board. The Elections were held resulting in the following changes to our board: James Simson was elected to the position of State Director for Vermont. Kevin Winn was elected to the position of Director at Large. Director and Webmaster Mel Petty and Director at Large Jim Rolson have stepped down from their positions. We thank Mel Petty and James Rolston for their service to this association.

We then held the drawings for the door prizes that included a 2019 Silver Eagle and the 2019 NENA medals set. We would like to thank all those that helped make this a successful event including our board, committees, volunteers, and members. Ernie Botte and EBW Promotions for providing the exhibit space and meeting room for our event; The Kittredge Foundation and Mansfield Numismatic Society for their generous financial support of our YN Program; The dealers for their generous donations of coins, medals, tokens and supplies for the Y.N’s.

William Harkins presenting Yale Lansky with a Presidential Award