73rd Conference Re-Cap

Highlights from our 73rd Conference and Convention

On Saturday November 4th, our activities included the John Kittredge Young Numismatist Program sponsored by NENA and the Kittredge Foundation, the Club Table where visitors could purchase this year’s medals and pay their dues, the Exhibits Gallery; our “What is it Table”, ANA Membership and Information Table, and the Annual Meeting that included the awards and election of officers.

The Young Numismatist program was held from 10:30 AM to 12:30 PM and was headed by Richard J. Hand Jr. with the assistance of Diane Zuck, Richard Ziegler and Donat Charron. This year’s program was very well attended with 45 Y.N’s including nine Boy Scouts from Troop 66, Thompson, CT; The nine scouts, troop leaders plus three local Y.N’s were sponsored by the Mansfield Numismatic Society who’s generous donation made it possible for the scouts to attend the program. The group from Connecticut also received one year ANA Memberships thanks to the generous donations by David Pepe of Pilgrim Coin and Currency, Weymouth, MA and Ernie Botte, EBW Promotions.

The “What is it Table” was set up adjacent to our Club Table where several volunteers including  Robert Hewey and John Ferreri answered questions and helped identify coins and other numismatic items that were brought to the table.

This year’s exhibits were outstanding; we had six exhibits with a total of thirteen cases. There were two Non-Competitive exhibits including a three case exhibit that highlighted NENA’s history and a two case exhibit featuring Connecticut Town Medals. There were four Competitive exhibits including a two case exhibit on Polymer Banknotes; one case on Large Silver Rounds; three cases on Youth Institution Scrip and two cases on Hometown Collecting.

Brian Maxfield won the Eliott Goldberg Best of Show Award for his exhibit on “Hometown Collecting” and received an acrylic plaque and a 1/10 oz. Gold Eagle; Robert Fritsch took Second Place with his exhibit on “Polymer Banknotes” and received an engraved plaque and a one ounce Silver Eagle; Robert Hewey took third place with his exhibit on “Youth Institution Scrip” and received an engraved plaque. Brian Maxfield also received the People’s Choice Award for his exhibit on “Hometown Collecting” and was given an engraved plaque and a one ounce Silver Eagle. All exhibitors received a silver uniface medal with the NENA logo on the obverse. The committee gratefully appreciated the time taken by the three Judges to evaluate the exhibits and each judge was given a special NENA medal in a black finish with the NENA logo on one side and a pointing hand with “you make the difference” on the other side.

The Annual Meeting took place from 3:00- 4:00 P.M. and was open to members and non-members alike. The meeting started with a brief talk by Bob Fritch titled ““The Sad Story of The Luther Little and Hesper”. This was followed with the Annual Business Meeting that included the Awards and the elections for Officers.

The New England Numismatic Association honored and paid tribute to Terrance O’Connor with the “John and Mary Mullen Lifetime Achievement Award” for his contributions to this organization and the New England Numismatic Community. Terry had put in many hours as our State Director for Massachusetts, Membership Director and served on our 75th, anniversary banquet committee, he also produced the programs for that event. It was always our intention to recognize him for his extraordinary efforts with this organization but unfortunately he had passed unexpectedly before any such appreciation could be given. The award was presented on Terry’s behalf to his son Tyler.

A Presidential Award was presented to Donat Charron for his dedication and outstanding work as State Director for Connecticut and his role as the chairman for the 75th, Anniversary Banquet.The Mansfield Numismatic Society was also presented with a Presidential Award for their longtime support of this association and generous donation to our Y.N. Program and initiative to bring Y.N.’s and Scouts to our program.

The Elections were held resulting in the following changes to our Board: Yale Lansky was elected to the position of Director, taking over the seat that was previously held by Robert Hess. We would like to express our thanks to Mr. Hess for his service as Director.

We then held the drawings for the door prizes that included a 2017 Silver Eagle and a 2017 NENA medals set.

We would like to thank all those that helped make this a successful event including our board, committees, volunteers and members. Ernie Botte and EBW Promotions for providing the exhibit space and meeting room for our event; The Kittredge Foundation and Mansfield Numismatic Society for their generous financial support of our YN Program; The dealers for their generous donations of coins, medals, tokens and supplies for the Y.N’s.

Awards YNs
Awards Presentation Young Numismatists